Again We Rise
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Again We Rise

Master tacticians. Fight side by side with legends of the Evolution of Combat.

HomeGalleryLatest imagesSearchRegisterLog in
Congratulations to Ken for getting a Max Cape! Now go get that Comp Cape!

In Case We Ever Try Again...

Go down 
5 posters
AuthorMessage
Manwe

Manwe

In Case We Ever Try Again... Empty
PostSubject: In Case We Ever Try Again...   In Case We Ever Try Again... I_icon_minitimeSat Aug 10, 2013 11:50 pm

In case any of us ever tries to built a clan again...
With Advanced Combat collapsing, what went wrong?
What started its decline?
What brought it to the brink of collapse?
What dealt the deathblow?
Any observations you have.

What I've seen...

Initiating the decline:
It seems this was caused almost entirely by the loss of a strong leader when Roryrai became inactive.  I'm a decent administrator, but people don't follow me with the kind of loyalty they gave Roryrai.  The loss of activity also had a hand, though, as we had a brief boom when I initiated the Survival Strategy.

Lesson:  A strong leader is vital to a strong clan.  This continued to hamper us from that point onward.

Brink of collapse:
This seemed to mostly result from losing several core members (Roryrai, Couriier Six and me).  We also changed to a PvM clan at this time, which is what caused the loss of us three, so whether the switch itself had a hand can't really be determined.  I doubt it did; the execution of said switch may have, though, as we weren't really prepared to forge a place for ourselves in PvM.  We had all of... what, five PvM'ers?  Eight?  A PvM clan won't grow without either some big-time PvMers (as in, well-known) or a largeish number to start.

Lesson:  If you're going to make a change, be prepared for it.

Deathblow: